Set up storm with ZMQ

I’m so excited that I have my first distributed set up. It’s on a virtual machine I have in my oh so awesome mac book pro. I still can’t get over the fact that I have this goliath of a machine under my finger tips. xD

Anyway, I’m going to go over an issue I was having on install. I imagine, now, that it might be because I was running openjdk instead of the oracle jdk. In the tutorial I was using they used oracle. Anyway, the issue was that when I ran ./configure on the jzmq directory, I would always get a configure error saying “could not find javah” after messing around a bit with PATH, JAVA_HOME, and even creating a JAVAH environment variables and reading thru a bunch of tutorials with similar/related issues, I still could not find the issue. So finally I decided to mess with the configure file, which is a big no-no, but very little reading I understood where the issue was and that i needed to skip this verification step for javah, because everything worked.

This tiny modification cleared up days of frustration. At least I have a working zeromq instance. Now I need to integrate it with my java and I’ll be set ::terror::

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

